“Mit ruhigen, inspirierenden Bewegungen und auf nötige Impulse reduzierter Gestik erwies sich der nunmehr elfte Dirigent des traditionsreichen Züricher Klangkörpers als souveräner Koordinator.”
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Werner M. Grimmel, 7 October 2019

“Fazit des Antrittskonzerts: Järvis Einstand ist vollauf gelungen, das Tonhalle-Orchester trägt ihn sprichwörtlich auf Händen, und die Tore für die im Verlauf der Saison angekündigten Kompositionen aus Ost- und Nordeuropa sind weit geöffnet.”
Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Thomas Schacher, 3 October 2019

“This was the first time the orchestra had played Kullervo and they clearly enjoyed it. They were also visibly proud of their new catch on the podium: Järvi swayed elegantly with the music, his beat easy to follow, with clear signals to soloists, principals and chorus. The orchestra and the people of Zurich can now surely look forward to many seasons of exciting music making of the highest quality.”
Seen and Heard International, John Rhodes, 5 October 2019

“Järvi’s focus may have been less on the glam or explosive effects, and more on the skill and carriage of the musicians’ achievements with the monumental score. And that, at very start of his tenure in Zurich, is a promising sign.”, Sarah Batschelet, 4 October 2019

“Järvi spitzte zu, justierte die Balance, lockte Orchestersolisten aus der Reserve, rundete den Gesamtklang, kurz: Er sorgte dafür, dass diese Tonhalle-Erstaufführung minutenlangen Applaus verdiente.”
Tages-Anzeiger, Susanne Kübler, 3 October 2019

“A musician who’s lived all his life with the sound and engine of Sibelius’s music, he (Järvi) set the pulse and temperature early on. The strings possessed a rich, dark patina, digging deep in the third movement, their pizzicato accord penetrating and warm; the woodwinds excelled, … the brass glowed and rasped … the attack, precision and detail was remarkable, the swells and cadences rattled home with the touch and drama of a complete master at the helm.”, Ateş Orga, 3 October 2019

“Järvis rasant individuelle Rhetorik, das instrumentale Können des Orchesters, das gemeinsame Wollen, das von traumsicherer Übereinstimmung mit dem Chefdirigenten kündet – man kann solches durchaus als gute Vorboten für die Zürcher Partnerschaft deuten.”
Die Welt, Manuel Brug, 3 October 2019

“Järvi lässt bei seinem Einstand das Orchester einmal mehr über sich hinauswachsen, spornt es zu einer Höchstleistung an, wie es ihm schon bei früheren Gastdirigaten gelungen ist.”
SRF, Moritz Weber, 3 October 2019


“The orchestra is making international waves – including an impressive debut at the BBC Proms last summer – but to hear them on their own turf in front of its adoring home audience gave the perfect introduction to this festival’s ethos.”, Mark Pullinger, 19 July 2019

“Here there are no egos, but truly passionate people in making and listening to the best music.”
El Pais, Pablo Rodriguez, 23 July 2019

“Above all there is the Estonian Festival Orchestra, the backbone of this music week and which has long proved itself internationally on tour! The latest, great baby of the great educator Paavo Järvi … And year after year you can see and hear the artists evolve, open up, listen to each other.”
Brugs Klassiker, Manuel Brug, 19 July 2019

“Paavo Järvi brings together his Estonian Festival Orchestra which he composes ad hoc, of handpicked musicians. Immediately sensitive, the complicity between instrumentalist and conductor allowed a remarkable economy of rehearsals and injected the concert with a truly breathtaking energy and virtuosity.”
Diapason, Paul de Louit, 7 August 2019

“Some journalists have compared the EFO to the Lucerne ensemble founded by Claudio Abbado … Measured by musicality, interpretive skills, technique, respect for each other and a warm relationship with the conductor, this must surely be true.”
Harmonie Magazine, Alena Sojková, 13 September 2019

“… The tour de force came after the interval, with Paavo Jarvi’s irresistibly driven interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s Second Symphony … the finale’s high-kicking variations virtually lifted us out of our seats. No more exciting official ending to a festival could possibly be imagined … this is definitely one of the world’s great orchestras, and it’s here to stay., David Nice, 14 August 2019

“The orchestra literally bites into the most beautiful horn soli and swaying folklore, jagged marching rhythms and to the finale into the Great Gate of Kiev, which also curves and opens up to the soundscapes of a Tchaikovsky exhibition. Paavo Järvi has the best handle on this, drives, holds back. It may also be glaring, but the matted harmony of the ensemble is always to be felt. This eventually explodes in an apotheosis of the sheet metal, Tchaikovsky orgasm pure.”
Brugs Klassiker, Manuel Brug, 22 July 2019


“Jeder Berliner Philharmoniker ist ein begnadeter Solist. Das zeichnet diese Orchesters aus. Einerseits. Andererseits kann es wechselnden Gastdirigenten unter Umständen Kummer bereiten. Aber doch nicht Paavo Järvi, dem vertrauten Freund des Hauses! Er ist angereist, um die Symphonie Nr.2 c-moll von Anton Bruckner zu dirigieren: die mit den vielen Themen, den vielen Generalpausen, die wahrscheinlich ungeliebteste, sicher schwierigste aller Bruckner-Symphonien.”
Der Tagesspiegel, 28 May, Eleonore Büning

“… This is music full of individual character, woodwind curlicues (for flute especially) and church chorales, for example, if with the composer also aware of his Austro-German symphonic lineage, fully appreciated by Järvi in his thrusting, shapely and everything-belongs approach, brought off resplendently and sympathetically by the Berliners, silences as meaningful as sound; and note the different weights applied to the final three chords of the opening movement, a bit stronger each time, timpani aflame, rolling underneath.”, 25 May 2019, Colin Anderson

“Zu Beginn erklang Weberns Bearbeitung von Bachs Ricercare aus dem Musikalischen Opfer … Die absteigende Tonleiter des „königlichen“ Themas fasst Webern als einzelne Sekundmotive auf, die er auf die Instrumente verteilt. Järvi ließ das etwas brav musizieren, und präparierte nicht etwa Seufzerfiguren heraus, was möglich gewesen wäre. Er fasste Weberns Bach-Bearbeitung als ein Mosaik auf und betonte das Punktuelle dieser Partitur.”, 26 May 2019, Sebastian Urmoneit